Alzheimer’s stages: Which are they and how to spot them

Alzheimer's stages: which are they

Alzheimer’s stages: Which are they and how to spot them

Alzheimer’s stages are essential to determine the treatment of the patient. This is a disease that develops slowly and progresses rapidly in three phases or stages.

Once diagnosed, the next step is identifying in which phase of the disease the patient is at.

It presents slight complications in the first stage and causes severe and irreparable brain damage in the following stages.

Generally, Alzheimer’s has 3 phases: mild, moderate and severe.

Why is it useful to identify alzheimer’s stages?

  • To determine the state of the patient in terms of the evolution of the disease.
  • Also, to select the most suitable medication.
  • Finally, to assess the loss of autonomy.

Phase 1: Mild

Duration: 3 years

  • Gradual short term memory loss
  • Behavioural changes
  • Disorientation
  • Aggression
  • Lack of concentration

Phase 2: Moderate

Duration: 3 years

  • Communication through speech, writing or gestures is affected
  • Difficulty carrying out coordinated movements (dressing themself, using cutlery)
  • Does not easily recognize or identify information that arrives to them through the senses, especially sight (recognizing family members)
  • Increased dependence on carers
  • Has lucid moments then becomes confused again

Phase 3: Severe

Duration: 3 years or more depending on their physical deterioration

  • Stiffness of muscles is accentuated
  • Brain-related symptoms get worse
  • Possible tremors or epileptic seizures
  • Does not recognize themself nor loved ones
  • Loss of ability to speak
  • Incontinence and assisted eating
  • Total dependence on carer

If you liked this article, share it with your loved ones.